Marcello Capra -
Preludio Ad Una Nuova Alba

(CD 2010, 56:21, Electromantic Records TJRS&F 909)

The tracks:
  1- Preludio (5:18)
  2- Danza Verde (3:55)
  3- Omaggio A Lulu (2:45)
  4- Corsari (5:10)
  5- Danza Turchese (4:18)
  6- Gocce (4:49)
  7- Tipsy Guitar (2:53)
  8- Presagio (4:52)
  9- Danza Russa (1:46)
10- La-Sol-Fa-Mi (3:39)
11- Bassa Marea( 4:36)
12- Vento Teso (3:13)
13- Canto Di Mare (2:36)
14- Tracce Mediterranee (1:54)
15- Aura (4:27)

Marcello Capra Website        samples        Electromantic Music

The last time I managed to listen through a complete album of solo acoustic guitar must have been one of Anthony Phillips’ Private Parts & Pieces, somewhere in the eighties. I do occasionally enjoy an acoustic interlude during a concert, but that is a far cry from sitting through a session of almost an hour. But lo and behold, Marcello Capra is a completely different story; this man can pick his guitar! On his eighth album Preludio Ad Una Nuova Alba and after having been in the music business for almost thirty years, he shows no signs of diminished inspiration. I like his compositions, because most of them are up-tempo, not that slow boring strumming. He uses the Ovation Legend acoustic guitar like a hard rock instrument, only without power. A nice surprise, this guy and well worth listening to when you are temporarily tired of all that progressive music...

**+André de Waal (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013