Cosmograf - Capacitor

(CD 2014, 52.06, Private Release)

The tracks:
  1- The Spirit Capture(7:37)
  2- The Fear Created(7:29)
  3- The Reapers Song(5:54)
  4- The Drover(6:37)
  5- White Car(9:35)
  6- The Ghost Gets Made(8:27)
  7- Stuck In The wood(6:27)

Website      facebook     

Cosmograf is the brain child of Robin Armstrong who plays keyboards and guitar and handles the vocals with authority. He already released Freed From The Anguish (2008), End Of Ecclesia (2009, see review), When Age Has Done Its Duty (2011, see review) and The Man Left In Space (2013).Capacitor was released in 2014 and was my favourite album of that year! It will come as no surprise when I say that this is an amazing album and if you don't have it already then you should make amends and at least find a way to listen to it. It has everything a prog album needs. To start, we have a great story. All about capturing ones spirit through old fashioned science and the ghost story that follows. Secondly it has some memorable music. Some of it soft, some heavy riffs, fantastic solos and even some psychedelia thrown in for good measure. There is plenty to keep the listener occupied and even tips a nod at The Beatles at one point.

Thirdly it has some great players including Nick D'Virgilio (Big Big Train, Spock's Beard, Genesis) on drums, Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree) on bass, Nick Beggs (Steven Wilson, Steve Hackett, Lifesigns) playing bass on Stuck In The Wood. Matt Stevens (The Fierce And The Dead) playing guitar on Stuck In The Wood, Andy Tillison (The Tangent) on keyboards and Steve Dunn (Colourflow, Also Eden) playing some bass. Not a bad line up I am sure you'll agree.

If you enjoyed Steven Wilson's The Raven Who Refused To Sing (2013, see review) then you will like this. This is progressive rock at its finest in the modern era. Yes, there are nods to the past but Robin has created a modern sounding album full of melody, passion and power. It will be hard for him to top this but I am sure he will have a damn good try. A must for your collection.

***** Dave Smith

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2015