Dark Ages - Between Us

(CD 2022, 51:44, Andromeda Relix)

The tracks:
  1- Pristine Eyes(5:38)
  2- Showdown(4:49)
  3- The Villain King(5:02)
  4- Beyond(6:18)
  5- Our Lonely Shelter(7:07)
  6- The Great Escape(5:00)
  7- Riddle from the Stars(5:38)
  8- There Is No End(12:12)


Dark Ages is an Italian prog rock/metal band hailing from Italy and consisting of
Simone Calciolari (guitars, vocals), Carlo Busato (drums), Angela Busato (keyboards, flute, vocals), Gaetano Celotti (bass) and Roberto Roverselli (vocals). Between Us is already their fifth album, although I have never heard of this band...

Between Us is a concept album and it features eight tracks of which the opening song Pristine Eyes, filled with nice keys and melodic guitar passages, is by far the best one of the entire album. The “problem” of Dark Ages seems to be the lack or skill to compose, write good songs with enough variety and most of all a sound of their own. Singer Roberto Roverselli definitely needs to improve himself as his vocals tend to sound rather weird and tiresome, but the songs are overall chaotic and most of them seem to go nowhere indeed.

Dark Ages is probably not a bad band but with this new album they definitely cannot compete with the keen competition in the progressive rock/metal world. So, there is a lot of work to do here for Dark Ages....

**+ Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2022