Gayle Ellett & The Electromags -
Shiny Side Up

(CD 2022, 52:17, PeacockSunrise Records)

The tracks:
  1- No Deposit, No Return(6:15)
  2- Highway 27(4:14)
  3- The Old Canyon Road(5:26)
  4- Southern Slide(4:48)
  5- Hardtailed Knucklehead(5:45)
  6- Donuts & Fishtails(5:18)
  7- Beyond The Milky Way(1:22)
  8- Brass Saddles & Steel Trees(2:36)
  9- Three Way Switch(5:31)
10- Crash Bar(5:26)
11- Trail Dust(5:10)

Website      samples      PeacockSunrise Records

The music of Gayle Ellet takes me back to the roaring seventies and I hear musical influences from notorious bands like Creedence Clearwater Revival, Bachman Turner Overdrive, The Allman Brothers Band and JJ Cale. The band gets its name from the electromagnetic pickups that are present on all electric guitars. These electromags capture the guitar's sound and transmit it down a wire to the amplifier, and they are unique for electric guitars. But, now for the music again, an excellent blend of rock, funk, jazz, and blues, which you can all enjoy in the more than awesome opening song No Deposit, No Return; a track that even reminds me of Canned Heat and Jeff Beck! Crash Bar features excellent riffs and one of the best guitar solos of the entire album, while Southern Slide features some formidable snarly guitar solos indeed!

Shiny Side Up is an impressive old-fashioned guitar album which guitar lovers will truly embrace and cherish but be aware as this is not a prog rock album. However, get out your air guitar and play along for almost an hour to lovely guitar solos, riffs, and melodies; love it!!

**** Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2022