Homunculus Res -
Come Si Diventa Ciò Che Si Era

(2015 CD, 52:29, Alt Rock)

The tracks:
  1- Operazione Simpatia(2:11)
  2- Doppiofondo Del Barile(2:50)
  3- Vesica Piscis(6:22)
  4- Dogface Reprise(1:50)
  5- Opodeldoc(4:26)
  6- La Felicità(1:27)
  7- Ottaedro(2:45)
  8- Egg Soup(0:50)
  9- Belacqua(3:39)
10- Ospedale Civico(17:52)
11- Dogface(3:40)
12- S Invertita(0:52)
13- Paum/(1:53)
14- Schermaglie(1:51)

facebook      Alt Rock

Homunculus Res is an Italian band, that released its first album Limiti All'Eguagliazna Della Parte Con Il Tutto (see review) in 2013. Headed by founder Dario D'Alessandro (guitar, keyboards), the band released their second album Come Si Diventa Ciò Che Si Era in 2015. Musically, the band takes its influences from the 70s, mixing the Italian prog of Picchio Del Pozzi, Le Orme and perhaps PFM with the jazzy influences of Caravan and other Canterbury bands.

The result is light, keyboard driven music, over strong, often jazz like rhythms laid down by drummer Daniele Di Giovanni and bass player Domenico Salamone. In many places, the keyboards of D'Allesandro are joined by the keyboards and synths - and a limited set of wind instruments - of the many guests that feature this album.
The opening track Operatione Fantasia immediately catches attention, with its driving bass rhythm. A good example of the influences mentioned above is found in the jazz rock piece Opoldeldoc, while the short La Felicità hints at the light fun of Caravan's Golf Girl.

Short tracks like Egg Soup, La Felicità, Belacqua and S Invertita all are little gems, but the Soft Machine like Ospedale Civico is the center piece of the album - and one of the few with vocals on. It builds up slowly, with vocal melodies floating over a layer of keyboards, joined by a saxophone shortly after. About half way, the music changes drastically, and a new, this time fully instrumental build up starts, with more room for the saxophone (multiple ones even). A wonderful piece of music.

Overall, I think this album might have been a bit longer than 52 minutes, and it is highly recommended for fans of Canterbury and Italian prog inspired jazz rock.

**** Angelo Hulshout (edited by Astrid de Ronde)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2016