Jonas Lindberg & The Other Side -
Miles From Nowhere

(CD 2022, 76:32, Inside Out Music)

The tracks:
  1- Secret Motive Man(7:26)
  2- Little Man(5:49)
  3- Summer Queen(15:52)
  4- Oceans Of Time(11:37)
  5- Astral Journey(5:50)
  6- Why I'm Here(4:26)
  7- Miles From Nowhere(25:32)
         - I - Overture
         - II - Don't Walk Away
         - III - I Don't Know Where You Are
         - IV - Memories
         - V - Miles From Nowhere

Website      samples      facebook     

Fans of Transatlantic, Spock's Beard, Neal Morse and The Flower Kings stop directly with what you are doing and run to the nearest music store to buy a copy of Miles From Nowhere, the latest album of prog rock giant multi-instrumentalist Jonas Lindberg.

This is his second album after the excellent 2016 release Pathfinder (see review) and once again Lindberg is assisted by Jonas Sundqvist (vocals), Jenny Storm (vocals), Nicklas Thelin (guitar), Calle Stalenberg (guitar), Jonathan Lundberg (drums), Simon Wilhelmsson (drums) and Joel Lindberg, Jonas's brother, on guitar. Besides that, impressive musical team, you can enjoy a spectacular solo of none other than Roine Stolt (Flower Kings and Transatlantic) on the closing track of this formidable album. The title song, clocking in at over 25 minutes is a real epic prog rock monster indeed in the veins of Transatlantic and The Flower Kings; kicking off with an extraordinary instrumental overture. This colossal superior prog track is immensely powerful, diverse as hell, very melodic with a real driving edge and it finishes brilliantly with a more than soaring climatic guitar solo from Stolt and then you will have goosebumps all over, for sure!! Miles From Nowhere starts with Secret Motive Man, a great opening track setting the tone for this album with spectacular vocals by Sundqvist and a really addictive guitar hook indeed. Follow up Little Man is a progpopballad-like song with an outstanding vocal performance, reminding me of Styx, while Summer Queen (great vocals by Jenny Storm), also a long song clocking at 15 minutes, has a real Transatlatic vibe to it, featuring lots of guitar shredding and beautiful keyboard passages and melodies. Oceans Of Time, already released as a single by the way, is again rather quiet and slow, featuring keyboard riffs galore. Astral Journey is the instrumental track of this album, starting off as a lyrical acoustic piece of music, later the band enters, and the song becomes proggier and “heavier”.

Jonas Lindberg plays a lot of the instruments himself and sometimes he is also the lead singer on this spectacular album which is a MUST for fans of brilliantly played prog rock in the veins of The Flower Kings, Spock's Beard, Transatlantic, Big Big Train, Spock's Beard, Genesis and even Yes; so yes, my dear prog rock fans, buy or die indeed. Miles From Nowhere is one of the best prog rock albums I have heard this year indeed!!

****+ Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2022