Knifeworld -
Bottled Out Of Eden

(CD 2016, 49:34, Inside Out Music)

The tracks:
  1- High/Aflame(6:33)
  2- The Germ Inside(4:47)
  3- I Am Lost(7:12)
  4- The Deathless(5:26)
  5- Foul Temple(2:37)
  6- Vision Of The Bent Path(0:37)
  7- I Must Set Fire To Your Portrait(5:35)
  8- Lowered Into Necromancy(4:02)
  9- A Dream About A Dream(5:43)
10- Secret Words(3:12)
11- Feel The Sorcery(3:50)

Website      Inside Out Records

I must confess that I had never heard of Knifeworld before and after a couple of spins of their third album Bottled Out Of Eden I have to say that this is not my favourite kind of music.

Knifeworld, an eight piece band from the UK, mixes psychedelic new wave music with rock, prog and pop and the sound of the band has a prominent role for the horn and woodwind section and that is not my favourite choice of instrument. Knifeworld certainly has a unique style, but to me it is in fact a rather odd album as Knifeworld even throws in a chop of jazzy counter point in their music here and there. Bottled Out Of Eden is a concept album inspired by the death of loved ones; an eleven piece song cycle of loss and hope. To me this album is too dark, too melancholic and too weird as most of the songs contain rather strange unexpected twists and turns and even some knotty passages which can be experienced best in the “highlight” of the album I Must Set Fire To Your Portrait; even the title is weird....
Bottled Out Of Eden is not my cup of tea.

*+ Martien Koolen (edited by Astrid de Ronde)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2016