Millenium -
Time Vehicle (The Best Of...)

(2 CD 2015, 77:15/ 77:14, Lynx Music LM 100CD-DG)

The tracks:
  1- Time Vehicle (New Track)(9:05)
  2- Born in 67(8:55)
  3- Numbers... (Radio Edit )(7:20)
  4- We Try Again(8:55)
  5- Road To Infinity (Radio Edit)(10:40)
  6- Demon(7:11)
  7- Hundreds Of Falling Rivers (Radio Edit)(5:35)
  8- In The World oOf Fantasy?(12:30)
  9- Circles Of Life(7:03)
  1- Woman & Man (Rarity From In Search Of
        The Perfect Melody Session 2014)
  2- The Prose Of Life (Radio Edit)(4:45)
  3- Embryo (Radio Edit)(11:57)
  4- Light Your Cigar (Radio Edit)(6:09)
  5- Back To The Childhood(4:11)
  6- Over & Over(5:38)
  7- Chaos (Radio Edit)(3:19)
  8- Madman (Radio Edit)(6:12)
  9- Drunken Angels(6:28)
10- For The Price Of Her Sad Days(6:09)
11- White Crow (Radio Edit)(4:42)
12- Ego(10:35)

Website      facebook      Lynx Music

The double album Time Vehicle (The Best Of...) is a compilation album of the Polish band Millenium, which contains the best tracks of all the albums Millenium had released back in the day. The band started in the year 1999 and released more than 12 albums over the years. Both discs are more than one hour long and most tracks are also longer than 5 minutes. The artwork of the album sleeve is very nicely done. It contains the album covers of their previous albums, circling around an ancient clock. The booklet shows which tracks are from which album. I find this a nice limited edition package!

The keyboardist of the band, Ryszard Kramarski, is the main guy who writes all the music. He's also responsible for the song lyrics along with lead vocalist Lukasz Galęziowski (better known as Lukasz Gall). I really had to get used to the voice of Lukasz, but somehow his voice really suits the music. I had to listen to it a couple of times to get a good picture of the album, but I really appreciated the music more and more when I gave it more spins. The overall sound could have been better. The bass sounds a bit too clean for me and the drums too sterile. Yes, this is music you immediately would categorize in progressive rock, sometimes even neo-prog. Some of the tracks are bit too tame for me, but it's very nice music to listen to. The songs contain surprising elements here and there or are completely different than you would expect.

The first track Time Vehicle is a brand new track which was especially made for this album. I love the instrumental passage in the track Numbers, which is followed by a guitar solo. The 'space-like' sounds also fit the music. The haunting mid-section of the track Road To Infinity is something I really like. The percussion in Demon during the outro gives a very good vibe to the song. The Prose Of Life is very up tempo and a bit different from the rest of the music in my opinion. The guitars during the intro of the track Embryo remind me of early Steve Hogarth-era Marillion. Back To The Childhood carries a positive and lovely vibe. Over & Over has a very sensitive intro which I quite like. The saxophone solo really completes the song. Chaos is one of my favourite songs on the album. It's a powerful instrumental track with surprising passages. There's an 'industrial music like' turn halfway during the track Drunken Angels, which is very unexpected and surprising.

This album is a must have for the fan of course. It is also a great starting point for someone who hasn't heard their music and wants to discover it. I do hope this 'Best Of' album is not going to be their last album and that the band will continue making new music in the near future.

**** Iris Hidding (edited by Robert James Pashman)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2016