Padre - From Faraway Island

(CD 2012, 42:04, Lynx Music)

The tracks:
  1- Frantic Day(4:41)
  2- From Faraway Island(7:01)
  3- Red Rain(6:20)
  4- I Have Been Blind(4:42)
  5- Last Words(4:24)
  6- Dancing Prayers(5:07)
  7- Drowsy Town(4:23)
  8- Dull And Ignorant(5:26)

Lynx Music

Padre are a Polish band led by keyboard player Krzystof Lepiarczy who has also worked with Loonypark, Metus and Nemezis. The first thing I noticed while listening to this album was the poor pronunciation of the English lyrics. Let me be straight without beating about the bush: From Faraway Island is one of the most boring albums I've heard in a long time, and I mean boring with a capital B! All songs commence with an almost similar piano intro followed by acoustic guitar riffs and rather annoying vocals. This means that all of the eight songs sound almost the same as there's no variety whatsoever: no guitar or keyboard solos, but only piano intros and dull vocals! After four tracks I almost fell asleep; I really don't need Polish lullabies to fall asleep in bright daylight. From Faraway Island is Padre's debut album and I'm certainly not waiting for a follow-up, if you know what I mean... In fact the last song title says it all: Dull And Ignorant!

* Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013