Pattern-Seeking Animals -
Pattern-Seeking Animals

(CD 2019, 58:21, Inside Out Music)

The tracks:
  1- No Burden Left To Carry(9:38)
  2- The Same Mistakes Again(5:10)
  3- Orphans Of The Universe(10:28)
  4- No One Ever Died And Made Me King(3:54)
  5- Fall Away(4:47)
  6- These Are My Things(4:52)
  7- We Write The Ghost Stories(8:22)
  8- No Land's Man(5:35)
  9- Stars Along The Way(10:20)

Website      facebook      Inside Out Records

Being a huge Spock's Beard and Enchant fan, I was really looking forward to this album by the Pattern-Seeking Animals, which consists of Ted Leonard (vocals and guitar), Dave Meros (bass guitar), Jimmy Keegan (drums) and John Boegehold (keyboards). The latter member wrote all the songs, produced the album and programmed all of the keyboards.

The sound of this album, containing nine tracks, is familiar indeed, as influences of The Beard and Enchant are obviously present. Pattern-Seeking Animals debut album kicks off with No Burden Left To Carry, which is a rather complex song, filled with layers of keys, lots of splendid sounding harmonies and great vocals by Leonard. Follow-up The Same Mistake Again is a ballad with again a main role for Leonard's excellent voice. Orphans Of The Universe, being the longest track of the album, clocking over ten minutes, features a long instrumental intro and evolves further into a real diverse prog rock epic with SP characteristics all over the place! The other epic song on this album is called Storm Along The Way and that one is also very diverse and experimental; in other words a musical gem for prog heads.

I think that these four guys have made a formidable album with big instrumental passages, but also with some AOR and sometimes poppy influences; listen e.g. to We Write The Ghost Stories or the ballad Fall Away. Pattern-Seeking Animals debut is a must for SP fans, but also for lovers of good solid prog rock.

***+ Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2019