Psychotic Waltz -
The God-Shaped Void

(CD 2020, 54:03, Inside Out Music)

The tracks:
  1- Devils And Angels(6:29)
  2- Stranded(4:49)
  3- Back To Black(3:52)
  4- All The Bad Men(3:59)
  5- The Fallen(5:49)
  6- While The Spiders Spin(5:49)
  7- Pull The Strings(4:54)
  8- Demystified(5:12)
  9- Season Of The Swarm(5:57)
10- Sisters Of The Dawn(6:41)
11- In The Silence(5:16)

Website      facebook      Inside Out Records

Bleeding, the 5th record album of Psychotic Waltz, was released 23 year ago and now the California-based prog metal band come up with a new studio album called: The God-Shaped Void. The question now is, was it worth the wait??

Answer, yes it bloody well was worth the 23 year wait indeed, as The God Shaped Void is a great prog metal highlight of the year 2020. The ten new tracks are filled with typical PW guitar riffs, hooks and melodies and the musical variety is again a treat for any prog metal addict. Best example of this is maybe one of the heaviest songs on the album called Back In Black, featuring a killer heavy guitar riff. The Fallen features some acoustic guitars and later evolves into a metallic anthem pur sang. Stranded also belongs to my favourites and that is mainly due to the very melodic chorus.

In fact the entire album does not contain any fillers as The God-Shaped Void is an almost flawless prog metal album and so we can say, welcome back Psychotic Waltz; highly recommended, especially if you liked their other mental prog metal stuff!!

**** Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2020