Sylvan - One To Zero

(CD 2021, 65:53, Gentle Art Of Music)

The tracks:
  1- Bit By Bit(6:18)
  2- Encoded At Heart(6:12)
  3- Start Of Your Life(3:14)
  4- Unleashed Power(7:31)
  5- Trust In Yourself(5:32)
  6- On My Odyssey(6:26)
  7- Part Of Me(9:16)
  8- Worlds Apart(3:57)
  9- Go Viral(6:41)
10- Not A Goodbye(10:14)

Website      facebook      Gentle Art Of Music

The German prog rock band Sylvan was founded in 1998 and Marco Gluhmann (vocals), Volker Sohl (keys), Sebastian Harnack (bass guitar), Matthias Harder (drums) and Johnny Beck (guitars) now release their 10th album, and this concept album is called: One To Zero.

This new album kicks off with Bit By Bit, featuring random white noise before it starts progrocking. Follow up Encoded By Heart is filled with piano passages and emotional vocals which give this track a rather melancholic ambiance. The Marillion-like Unleashed Power is maybe a bit too long and therefore comes over as a bit tedious... On My Odyssey is very melodic and features lovely string arrangements and even a violin solo. Sylvan, although not very original, saves the best for last with the two closing tracks Go Viral and Not A Goodbye. Especially Go Viral is one of my favourite songs of the album as it is filled with heavy guitar riffs and some really excellent drumming by Matthias Harder. Not A Goodbye is an almost perfect way to end this great album, being a top-notch prog rock track with again lots of melancholy and ending with random white noise to make this album full circle!

One To Zero definitely is a return to Sylvan's musical roots and the production of Kalle Walner and Yogi Lang (RPWL) is more than excellent, so a must for Sylvan lovers and other prog rock aficionados.

***+ Martien Koolen (edited by Tracy van Os van den Abeelen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2021