The Mute Gods -
Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me

(CD 2016, 59:49, Inside Out Music)

The tracks:
  1- Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me(7:45)
  2- Praying To A Mute God(5:06)
  3- Nightschool For Idiots(6:00)
  4- Feed The Troll(4:55)
  5- Your Dark Ideas(4:41)
  6- Last Man On Earth(5:30)
  7- In The Crosshairs(3:18)
  8- Strange Relationship(6:10)
  9- Swimming Horses(7:05)
10- Mavro Capelo(5:10)
11- Father Daughter(4:09)

Website      facebook      Inside Out Records

The Mute Gods is a new prog rock super group containing of: Nick Beggs (bass and vocals) (Kajagoogoo, Iona, Steven Wilson, Steve Hackett), Roger King (keyboards, vocals) (Steve Hackett) and Marco Minnemann (drums) (Steven Wilson, H-Blockx and Joe Satriani, The Aristocrats). January 2016 they released their debut Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me.

The eleven songs on this album are all progressive rock tracks mixed with pop rock, folk and even soul characteristics and feature a heavy keyboard sound blended with “easy on the ear” melodies. The opening track, being the title song, is already one of the highlights, filled with great melodies, an excellent central groove and an experimental middle section, which bring back the days of King Crimson. Praying To A Mute God is rather poppy and features a lot of acoustic guitars, while Feed The Trolls is a spectacular rocking track. In The Crosshairs is an overwhelming instrumental highlight, featuring amazing grooves, excellent melodies and some very impressive guitar work. Another instrumental song Mavro Capelo is also one of my favs, as it is stacked up with bombastic guitar hooks and grooves which make this song very “suitable” for a jam with Steven Wilson; awesome! The album ends with Father Daughter, which features a rather boring duet between Beggs and his daughter Lula, and I always skipped this track while I was listening to this album.... Beggs, King and Minnemann are assisted by Ricky Wilde (keyboards), Nick D'Virgilio (drums, Spock's Beard) and Gary O'Toole (drums) making Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me a must for prog rock addicts. I am sure that we will hear a lot more from The Mute Gods!

**** Martien Koolen (edited by Robert James Pashman)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2016