Time Code Alpha - Freakshow

(CD 2009, 57:00, Spinfox Records)

The tracks:
  1- Freakshow(5:03)
  2- Driving My Car(5:24)
  3- If My Lips Could Reach God’s Ear(4:14)
  4- Face The Ground(4:15)
  5- Liar(5:04)
  6- You Have To Understand(4:17)
  7- Illusion(3:41)
  8- Do We Care At All(4:13)
  9- Mr.Looser(3:54)
10- Confess Before God(4:05)
11- You Rock My World(3:06)
12- What’s The Point(5:09)
13- Create(3:47)
14- Freakshow Reprise(0:40)

Time Code Alpha Website        samples        Spinfox Records

Time Code Alpha is a new and interesting Swedish band featuring the talents of former Biscaya-vocalist Mads Clausen, guitar picker Peter Lazar and bass player Ken Sandin. Freakshow is an album containing thirteen theatrical, progressive and symphonic rock songs, reminding me sometimes of bands like Yes, A.C.T, Evergrey and Pain Of Salvation (POS). Face The Ground for example, is a very dark and heavy song with lots of musical elements that you can also hear on albums of Evergrey and POS. Most of the songs are rather melancholic and dark, but with Do We Care At All, there seems to be a light at the end of the tunnel. However, most of the rather complex songs need a lot of time to ‘digest’, but if you take the time needed then you’ll probably start to appreciate this album. The production is very good and heavy and Driving My Car is even a song you can sing-along.

Check this album out and you will not be disappointed. By the way, forget the horrible album cover…

**** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013