Transatlantic - The Whirlwind

(CD 2009, 77:34, Inside Out/EMI/Radiant Records)

The tracks:
  1- Overture / Whirlwind(9:54)
  2- The Wind Blew Them All Away(6:10)
  3- On The Prowl(6:03)
  4- A Man Can Feel(6:35)
  5- Out Of The Night(4:22)
  6- Rose Colored Glasses(7:54)
  7- Evermore(4:10)
  8- Set Us Free(5:03)
  9- Lay Down Your Life(5:11)
10- Pieces Of Heaven(2:17)
11- Is It Really Happening?(8:11)
12- Dancing With Eternal Glory /         Whirlwind (Reprise) (12:04)

Transatlantic Website        samples        Inside Out Records

After great albums from Dream Theater and Porcupine Tree, The Whirlwind is the third super album of 2009. After seven years, Transatlantic still are Pete Trewavas (Marillion), Mike Portnoy ( Dream Theater), Roine Stolt ( Flower Kings) and Neal Morse (ex-Spock’s Beard). They return with their third and in my opinion their best album so far. The Whirlwind is a very ambitious concept album, which consists of only one epic song of 77 minutes, divided into twelve parts. Subtle musical references to symphonic rock legends like Genesis, Yes, Gentle Giant and Pink Floyd are audible and recognizable. However, fans of The Flower Kings, Spock’s Beard and the solo albums of Neal Morse will also love this album. The craftsmanship of these four musicians is outstanding and the compositions are even better than those on their previous albums. The band really goes wild, especially in the overwhelming second part of Is It Really Happening.

Guitarist and singer Roine Stolt shines in songs like A Man Can Feel, The Wind Blew Them All Away and Pieces Of Heaven. Despite the fact that this is an incredible prog rock album, I also have some negative remarks. The lyrics are really too serious or maybe I should say too religious? The production sometimes is a bit over the top and the orchestral passages are slightly cliché. Apart from these remarks, The Whirlwind is a sheer magical super prog rock album whatsoever. A ‘must have’ for everyone who likes prog! For listeners who want more, there is a special edition with four extra songs and four covers and a special edition, featuring a DVD with the making of The Whirlwind. Now, let’s hope that these guys are going on tour very soon, so that we all can enjoy The Whirlwind on stage!

***** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013