TumbleTown -
Done With The Coldness

(CD 2013, 53:22, FREIA Music)

The tracks:
  1- The End Of Hyde(4:49)
  2- Won't Look Back(5:27)
  3- One Goal(5:31)
  4- Free Men(5:43)
  5- I Can Feel You(4:12)
  6- Finding A Way Out(7:46)
  7- All In The Game(5:48)
  8- Sailing Along With The Breeze(4:18)
  9- One Liners(3:27)
10- Loyal Tears(4:29)
11- Haduwig(2:12)

Website      facebook      Freia Music

TumbleTown is a studio project of Han Uil (Seven Day Hunt, Antares) and Aldo Adema (Egdon Heath, Seven Day Hunt), two competent producers, guitar players and composers. The music of TumbleTown is rather melodic with a symphonic prog sound and feel. Some tracks remind me of bands like Nosound, Marillion, Wolverine and sometimes even Mike Oldfield as far as the guitar sound is concerned. Won't Look Back is one of my highlights; it's an up-tempo track with a heavenly solo from Han Uil.

One Goal is the first video from TumbleTown, a rather orchestral piece reminding me of Blackfield. Another good song is the final and instrumental track Haduwig as it contains guitar and keyboards galore. However, the other tracks are some kind of mediocre prog rock that won't stand out with the prog rock audience, I'm afraid. Songs like All In The Game or Sailing With The Breeze sound too much alike, so the quality of the songs rather varies. There's still a lot of work to be done for TumbleTown. Mind you, it's not a bad album at all, but I think Uil and Adema can do better than this. So, let's wait what the future has in store for these two musicians.

**+ Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?