DeeExpus - Far From Home

(DVD 2009, 130:00, Metal Mind MMP DVD 0179)

The tracks:
  1- Intro
  2- Greed
  3- PTtee
  4- One 8
  5- Pointless Child
  6- Half way Home
  7- Red
  8- One Day
  9- Seven Nights
Bonus Video: The Journey Home
Interview with Andy Ditchfield & Tony Wright

DeeExpus Website        samples        Metal Mind Records

If you want to know how British band DeeExpus got their name, you have to start with the bonus feature on this DVD. It contains an interview with Andy Ditchfield (guitars & vocals) and Tony Wright (lead vocals) who are talking about the origin of the band, the live performances, the recording of the Far From Home DVD and other interesting background information. You can see some of these subjects in the short, but well made documentary The Journey Home. You can also enjoy footage shot at their CD release party, in the rehearsal room and on the road. This documentary gives a real Ďoutside looking iní feeling of how the band started and made their way to the stage of the Wyspianski Theatre in Katowice, Poland.

On February 17 2009, three bands performed on the ProgRock Festival. DeeExpus had the task to do the warming- up for the audience before Finnish Overhead and German RPWL would hit the stage. According to the coverage of their performance during this festival, they had the audience completely on their side. Thatís not strange to me, because they performed the material from their debut album Half Way Home (see review) without making hardly any mistakes. Therefore, the band deserves a big compliment, because it was their third performance ever in front of a live audience. As we can see in the documentary, they practiced a lot resulting in a concert worth watching. It goes without saying, that the sound and the images on this DVD are top-notch. You can easily leave that to the film crew of Metal Mind Records.

For those who are not familiar with the music of DeeExpus, the best references I can give are Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree, but from time to time, you can also hear hints from It Bites and Marillion.

**** Henri Strik (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013